Before the Light Bulb Switches Off

I remember a workplace colleague who used to constantly repeat that
‘life is like a light bulb, you wouldn’t know when it would burn out.’
Seemed pretty cheesy to hear and made us all laugh up until reality struck on a Monday. I walked into my workplace and heard that my colleague’s ‘bulb’ had switched off suddenly the previous day. His sudden demise just kept all of us muttering his so called ‘cheesy’ quote which didn’t sound as cheesy at that point.

The shock of it all makes me think of much. We wait for that ‘one day’ and ‘some day’ to do our things. I’m more guilty than any one else I can assure.
Why do we wait for those special days to do things, say things, use things.

The expensive crockery is saved for a special occasion, the lingerie and perfumes aren’t used in anticipation of a special moment, words aren’t expressed in looking forward to a future day, ties are not maintained because we always think there is time. Maybe there is, but what if there is not? What happens if our light bulb switches off before we realize it?

Leave a comment