A Friend or a Mere Acquaintance?

Friends… Do we need friends?

As I turned 18 I had a number of friends. Two schools, work and higher studies ensured I knew numerous people. This was a time where we were stepping into adulthood and still away from the gravity of real life. I had plenty of friends who shared in the best moments of my life. I thought I was blessed to have this many.

🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸

One day, tragedy struck, my sister passed away. Some of my friends who ensured they were there during all the good moments, failed to visit or call to console my aching heart. I was in a state of unbelief. I remember calling them to check if they knew what happened, they told me they did. I let go of some friendships at that point.

🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸

Few years down the line, still more friends. I was married by then, couple weekends and trips together. Life was good as we had friends to share it I thought. My marriage hit rock bottom, some friends who were close quietly slipped out. By then I decided I didn’t want friends. I stayed away from anything that connected me away from friends. Life had taught me that most weren’t friendships but mere acquaintances.

🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸

I literally disappeared during this time being close only to my parents. However, life surprised me again. A few friends of yesteryears whom I rarely kept in touch contacted my family and reached out to me. They visited me, surprised me on my birthday, inquired about me and sent over little gifts to brighten my day.

These friends are so close to my heart as their effort to reach out to me was immense. They looked out for me when no one else did. They didn’t give up on the friendship we shared after this many years.

🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸

It has been many years since this occurred but life has taught me what friendship truly is.

🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸🧸

The friends I have now are close to my heart and most importantly we have aligned thoughts that help uplift each other when another needs it. We are more to one another than mere fun, gossip and petty misunderstandings. We help build each other and remain strong when one of us are in the verge of collapsing.

Have a great day!

Lots of Love,

Zarika 🧸

Leave a comment